Special Awards

In March of 2005, the Maryland Association of Engineer’s Board of Directors chose to establish a special award in honor of Carl W. Scheffel, Sr. in recognition of his many years of outstanding service to the MAE. Since he joined the organization in 1967, Carl has been a driving force in planning and organizing the many MAE events that are scheduled every year. In establishing this award, the Board will present a trophy to recognize individuals from both the public and private sectors of the engineering profession that have contributed time, talent, and outstanding effort in support of the MAE.


In 2011, the Board of Directors added a Carl Scheffel Award to an Outstanding Young Member in recognition of special service to the MAE.

Contributed Time

Individuals that have contributed time.

Excellent Talent

Shown and provided excellence in talent.

Outstanding Effort

Made a contribution with outstanding effort.

Recipients Of This Award Have Included

Award Winners

William J. Kotis Sr. – 2005

W. “Bill” Crosen – 2005

Dana P. Knight – 2006

Keith Compton – 2006

Richard M. Evans – 2007

William K. Lee, III – 2008

Pierce J. Flanigan, III – 2008

Gene Camponeschi – 2009

Steve Whitecotton – 2009

Blaine Lipski – 2010

Charles (Sam) Carnaggio – 2011

Frank Waesche, III – 2012

Harry J. McCullough – 2013

Daniel T. Cheng – 2014

John Agro – 2015

Brian Dolan – 2015

Bob Olsen – 2015

Juan Ponce – 2016

Kevin McGrath – 2017

Jeff Dreyer – 2018

Donald F. Krempel – 2019

Stuart B. Taub – 2020

Young Member Award Winners

Brandon T. Knight – 2011

Adam Gardner – 2012

Aly Sengvieng – 2013

Tyler Ferrara – 2014

Rhakeem J. Brunson – 2017

Max Hart – 2018

Each of these individuals have regularly participated in MAE functions and volunteered time and financial support contributing to the success of numerous events. They also exemplify the ideals and goals of the MAE.